INFO ALERT: Committee Chairs and Gubernatorial Appointments for 2019

Posted January 8th, 2019 | Status:

Governor Gavin Newsom has made some serious appointments in regards to the business community. On Friday, 1/4/19, Governor Newsom announced the following:

lenny-mendonca.jpgLenny Mendonca, California Forward Co-chair, as Chief Economic and Business Adviser and Director of the Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz). Lenny is an economist and former chair of the Bay Area Council, a retired senior partner at McKinsey & Co., a management consulting firm, and a lecturer at Stanford University’s business school. In his new post, he “will help ensure that California is rolling out the welcome mat to current and future California businesses” and try to “modernize the state’s approach to economic development across the state’s agencies,” the then governor-elect’s team said in a statement



Chris Dombrowski, has been appointed as Chief Deputy Director of Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz). Chris was an Economic Development Policy Consultant under then Lieutenant Governor and a graduate from UC Davis.



Julie Su, former California Labor Commissioner, has been appointed as Secretary of Labor and Workforce Development. Julie Su was appointed by Governor Jerry Brown and assumed the position of California Labor Commissioner in April 2011. She oversaw over 500 staff in 18 offices across the state.


Throughout the month of January, Governor Newsom will be making more appointments. Click here to view more and as always, BizFed will be sure to let you know as we are made aware.

CA State Legislature Committee Memberships
2019-2020 Legislative Session

Senate Standing Committees – For full list of committees and members click here


  • Senator Cathleen Galgiani (D-Stockton), Chair


  • Senator Anthony J. Portantino (D-La Cañada-Flintridge), Chair

Banking and Financial Institutions

  • Senator Steven Bradford (D-Gardena), Chair

Budget and Fiscal Review

  • Senator Holly J. Mitchell (D-Los Angeles), Chair

Business, Professions and Economic Development

  • Senator Steven M. Glazer (D-Contra Costa), Chair

Energy, Utilities and Communications

  • Senator Ben Hueso (D-San Diego), Chair

Environmental Quality

  • Senator Benjamin Allen (D-Santa Monica), Chair

Governance and Finance

  • Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg), Chair


  • Senator Richard Pan (D-Sacramento), Chair


  • Senator Scott D. Wiener (D-San Francisco), Chair


  • Senator Susan Rubio (D-Baldwin Park), Chair

Labor, Public Employment and Retirement 

  • Senator Jerry Hill (D-San Mateo), Chair

Legislative Ethics

  • Senator Holly J. Mitchell (D-Los Angeles), Chair

Natural Resources and Water

  • Senator Henry Stern (D-Canoga Park), Chair


  • Senator Jim Beall (D-San Jose), Chair

Joint Legislative Audit Committee

  • Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside), Vice Chair

Assembly Standing Committees – For full list of committees and members click here

Accountability and Administrative Review

  • Assemblymember Cottie Petrie-Norris, Chair


  • Assemblymember Susan Eggman, Chair


  • Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez, Chair

Banking and Finance

  • Assemblymember Monique Limón, Chair


  • Assemblymember Phil Ting, Chair

Business and Professions

  • Assemblymember Evan Low, Chair

Communications and Conveyance

  • Assemblymember Miguel Santiago, Chair


  • Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell, Chair

Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials

  • Assemblymember Bill Quirk, Chair


  • Assemblymember Jim Wood, Chair

Housing and Community Development

  • Assemblymember David Chiu, Chair


  • Assemblymember Tom Daly, Chair

Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy

  • Assemblymember Sabrina Cervantes, Chair

Labor and Employment

  • Assemblymember Ash Kalra, Chair

Natural Resources

  • Assemblymember Laura Friedman, Chair

Privacy and Consumer Protection

  • Assemblymember Ed Chau, Chair

Revenue and Taxation

  • Assemblymember Autumn Burke, Chair


  • Assemblymember Jim Frazier, Chair

Utilities and Energy

  • Assemblymember Chris Holden, Chair

Water, Parks, and Wildlife

  • Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia, Chair

US Congress Committee Memberships
2019-2020 Legislative Session

US Senate Standing Committees – For full list of committees and members click here

US House Standing Committees – For full list of committees and members click here

Tracy Hernandez


Related Alerts


See All Action Alerts
Copyright © 2019. Website maintained by OpenThink Technology, LLC.
HTML Snippets Powered By :