LA business leaders honor 80 new policymakers

Share This :

LOS ANGELES (Sept. 27, 2023) – Business and civic leaders united by a nonprofit advocacy alliance will gather Thursday evening at Union Station to honor 80 newly elected and appointed officeholders representing Los Angeles County residents at all levels of government.

The Los Angeles County Business Federation, widely known as “BizFed,” is proud to co-host its ninth annual Freshman Policymakers Reception with BizFed PAC, the only business political action committee focused on local elections in all 88 cities across Los Angeles County.

The celebration is Southern California’s most attended and longest running event dedicated to recognizing freshman government officials. Hundreds of BizFed members from diverse sectors and communities attend the event every year to welcome new officeholders and reconnect with veteran legislators. More than 90 elected officials are confirmed to attend this year.

“It’s an invaluable opportunity for business leaders and policymakers to connect in a relaxed, celebratory environment. You can’t recreate this kind of safe space for authenticity in meetings or working groups,” said Tracy Hernandez, Founding CEO of BizFed.

“The annual exchange of policy ideas and industry intelligence during the reception has strengthened longstanding and otherwise unlikely alliances that benefit all Californians by accelerating the growth of the regional economy,” said John Musella, Chair of BizFed’s Board of Directors.

“Our lengthy list of honorees this year includes three members of Congress, seven state legislators, mayors of Los Angeles and Long Beach, and council members from nearly 40 local cities. We look forward to fostering meaningful friendships between these policymakers and diverse members of the region’s business community,” said Aaron Taxy, Chair of BizFed PAC.

Attendees will receive copies of BizFed’s 2023 Freshman Policymakers Directory with direct contact information and social media handles for this year’s 80 honorees. Journalists are invited to attend and cover the event from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m. at the Union Station Ticket Concourse.


U.S. Rep. Sydney Kamlager-Dove – Congressional District 37
U.S. Rep. Robert Garcia – Congressional District 42
U.S. Rep. Michelle Steel – Congressional District 45

Malia Cohen – California State Controller

Sen. Caroline Menjivar – Senate District 20
Sen. Lola Smallwood-Cuevas – Senate District 28
Asm. Juan Carrillo – Assembly District 39
Asm. Pilar Schiavo – Assembly District 40
Asm. Rick Chavez Zbur – Assembly District 51
Asm. Blanca Pacheco – Assembly District 64
Asm. Josh Lowenthal – Assembly District 69

Sup. Lindsey Horvath – Supervisorial District 3
Robert Luna – Sheriff

Karen Bass – Los Angeles Mayor
Hydee Feldstein Soto – Los Angeles City Attorney
Kenneth Mejia – Los Angeles City Controller
Katy Young Yaroslavsky – Los Angeles City Council, District 5
Imelda Padilla – Los Angeles City Council, District 6
Heather Hutt – Los Angeles City Council, District 10
Traci Park – Los Angeles City Council, District 11
Hugo Soto-Martinez – Los Angeles City Council, District 13
Tim McOsker – Los Angeles City Council, District 15

Jeremy Wolf – Agoura Hills City Council
Penny Sylvester – Agoura Hills City Council
Sharon Kwan – Arcadia City Council, District 2
Eileen Wang – Arcadia City Council, District 3
Michael Cao – Arcadia City Council, District 5
Jean Ayala – Baldwin Park City Council
Francis De Leon Sanchez – Bell Gardens City Council
Nikki Perez – Burbank City Council
Tamala Takahashi – Burbank City Council
Zizette Mullins – Burbank City Council
Edward Albrecht – Calabasas City Council
Cynthia Gonzalez – Cudahy City Council
Martin Fuentes – Cudahy City Council
Dan O’Brien – Culver City City Council
Freddy Puza – Culver City City Council
Chia Yu Teng – Diamond Bar City Council, District 4
Hector Sosa – Downey City Council, District 2
Tera Martin Del Campo – Duarte City Council, District 4
Julia Ruedas – El Monte City Council, District 3
Richard Rojo – El Monte City Council, District 5
Marisol Cortez – El Monte City Council District 6
Ryan Baldino – El Segundo City Council
Dandy De Paula – Hawaiian Gardens City Council
Katrina Manning – Hawthorne City Council
Dean Francois – Hermosa Beach City Council
Rob Saemann – Hermosa Beach City Council
Joe Loggia – Hidden Hills City Council
Rex Richardson – Long Beach Mayor
Kristina Duggan – Long Beach City Council, District 3
Megan Kerr – Long Beach City Council, District 5
Joni Ricks-Oddie – Long Beach City Council, District 9
Gabriela Camacho – Lynwood City Council
Juan Muñoz-Guevara – Lynwood City Council
Doug Stewart – Malibu City Council
Marianna Riggins – Malibu City Council
David Lesser – Manhattan Beach City Council
Mayra Aguiluz – Maywood City Council
Georgina Tamayo – Montebello City Council, District 1
Thomas Wong – Monterey Park City Council, District 1
Jose Sanchez – Monterey Park City Council, District 3
Vinh Ngo – Monterey Park City Council, District 5
Eric Ohlsen – Palmdale City Council, District 4
Andrea Alarcon – Palmdale City Council, District 5
John Garcia – Pico Rivera City Council
Paul Seo – Rancho Palos Verdes City Council
Paige Kaluderovic – Redondo Beach City Council, District 3
Mary Solorio – San Fernando City Council
Eric Chan – San Gabriel City Council
John Wu – San Gabriel City Council
Tony Chou – San Marino City Council
Caroline Torosis – Santa Monica City Council
Jesse Zwick – Santa Monica City Council
Kris Lowe – Sierra Madre City Council
Rudy Bojorquez – South El Monte City Council
Joshua Barron – South Gate City Council
Janet Braun – South Pasadena City Council, District 5
Ollie Cantos – West Covina City Council, District 4
Chelsea Lee Byers – West Hollywood City Council